Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | March 14, 2011

I’m Baaaack!

Hello, my friends,

I did not intend to take a mid-winter break, but,  there you go.  The days got away from me, the inspiration was lacking, and the ability to write seemed to have completely drained out of my fingertips.  But, here I am, ready for another year of walking, running and writing.  Thank you all for being so patient with me!

On Saturday, I ran/walked my first race of the year: the Run for the Luck of It 5K.  I clocked in at 40 minutes, 3 seconds, which is better than my first ever 5K, not as good as my last one, but hey, after a winter of M&Ms and ice cream indulgences and very little walking, I am just glad to have finished the darn thing.  Hurray!  Last year the Run for the Luck of It was my first experience with a race EVER, and I volunteered at it, holding a STOP sign at an intersection.  (And, by being an active participant in it this year I was celebrating a private one year anniversary of something that means a lot to me but is something I don’t really like to talk about.  If you know me well enough, you might guess;  but a milestone has been reached and that’s all I’ll say about that.)

Yep.  The winter doldrums have had me bad.  I am such a scaredy-cat when it comes to walking on ice that I just haven’t gotten out much.  However, spring is coming, Missoula had a lovely weekend of sun, and I’m ready to get started.  A month ago, Valentine’s Day, I started my day by being interviewed for a news segment on KECI about Run Wild Missoula and what I’ve been doing with my Christopher Reeve fund-raising, and ended the day being on the panel of folks who have used the Missoula Marathon as a life-changing event.  That panel discussion was a RWM Good Food Store presentation. Both of those went well, and I felt tremendously flattered to have been asked to participate.  Today, Jim and I are attending another meeting at the Good Food Store, led by my walking class teachers Candace Crosby and Rolf Tanberg.  Hurray!  My wonderful, sweet, but lumbering husband is all excited about taking the Walking Class with me, and together we intend to do the Missoula Half-Marathon this July.

So, that all brings us up-to-date.  But, do we have any inspiring words to offer? Hmmmmm…. picture me twiddling my thumbs, looking up at the ceiling, thumbing through the Jeff Galloway book by my side…. hmmmm.  Nope.  Not an inspiration to be had.  Okay, I’ll make some comparisions.

                           Mar. 2010                         Mar. 2011
weight                 211 lbs            160 lbs (yes, I’ve gained 5# because of M&Ms…)
races                   none              six 5Ks, a 10K, and two marathons (what?) 
$ raised               none       more than $5000 for the Christopher Reeve Foundation

I guess my only words of possible inspiration here are that if I  can do it, anyone can.  Why don’t you choose a charity (I can suggest a GREAT one, if you need help choosing) and join me?  Our walking class starts this Saturday at the Community Hospital at 8:00 am.  You can DO this thing.

Go forward, my friends.  Go Forward.

Leave a Reply

Categories

