Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | January 17, 2011

Yikes!

This will be a short post, today, as I have to go in to work, in spite of it being Monday, my usual day off.  Just so you know, I truly LOVE this job, and feel so grateful to have found just what I was looking for… a part-time job where I could use my skills and creativity in a beautiful location, close enough to walk to work, being with people who are warm, and loving.  The fact that the church also has great history, being the church of Rev. John Maclean, the church which is spoken of in the novella and movie by Norman Maclean entitled “A River Runs Through It” is only icing on the cake.  This is a great job.

So, the “YIKES!” of my title comes from an invitation I just received via email… to be a part of a panel speaking at the regular Monday evening seminar put on by Run Wild Missoula.  Here’s the scoop: the topic is on people who have utilized the Missoula Marathon as part of a program to make big, positive lifestyle changes.  The goal is to motivate others who thought “not possible” and make it “possible.”  I am tremendously flattered to be asked, and really feel that there are lots of others out there who would be a better choice… but since I’ve been asked, I’ll do it!  The seminar will be at the Good Food Store in Missoula, on Valentine’s Day, 7:00 pm.  Come, if you can.

That’s all.  No other thoughts for today.  Except this… this week is my sweetheart’s birthday, and I am so very grateful to be able to share these happy happy days.  You know my history… but you may not know that because of my history, when I kiss him good-bye in the morning, I really never do KNOW that my wonderful husband is going to be able to come home in the evening.  I HOPE he will, but every single morning I think “This may be the last chance I have to hug him.”  This is not a morose fixation. It is the knowledge that we, all of us, live with the certainty of death.  We, none of us, ever know for sure when it will, in fact, BE the last time… and so I have learned to take advantage of the good times, the precious times.  Hug those you love.  Tell them you love them.  Do it now.

Responses

  1. Hurray! I don’t agree that anyone else would be a better choice. Your success, dedication and contribution to a cause are inspriration to all your family and to many many others as well. Wish I could be there on Valentines day. I’m sure you will bring inspiration and hope to many more on that special day.

  2. Kimberly~
    Can’t think of a better speaker for the panel! You changed your life but also the lives of the many others you touched along the way.

    As I send my 3 guys off today, I will pay special attention to the hug and kiss. I know more than most folks that life changes in the blink of an eye. Always good to be reminded.

    Happy Birthday Jim!

  3. My comment would be WOW! You are the expert.

  4. Congratulations, Kimberly! You are incredible!

  5. My Darling Sister

    I love you!

    Your lovin brother
    Bill


Leave a Reply

Categories

