Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | December 28, 2010

Christmas “presence”

I love Christmas.  I love the long dark days, the soft warm fire, the songs and sounds and lights of coming home in the dark of late afternoon to a house full of love and Christmas joy.  I love Christmas.  And this Christmas was such a gentle, sweet, quiet one that I can’t stop reveling in it.  

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with my mother;  I am so grateful to have her here and close enough to hug.  She and my father were married on Christmas Day, 1942, the same year that the song “White Christmas” came out.  My dad was in the Marines, and he wore his dress blues, of course.  My mother wore a beautiful white satin gown, simple and elegant.  There are no photos of this happy event, much to our disappointment.  Folks just didn’t carry cameras then, as they do now, and the photographer had gotten too drunk at the bachelor party and missed the ceremony.  But we do have some lovely photos of that night,  taken at their apartment in Butte, where my father had planned a sweet welcome for his new bride.  He had decorated a little Christmas tree, all with blue lights, and when he carried Mom over the threshold, the tree was lit and welcoming.  My parents were married for 53 years before my father died fifteen years ago, and Mom still grieves for him.  My father is a presence of love and joy in our hearts at this time of year.

I have more news, more things to write about, but nothing which comes close to the joy of thinking about my dad and mom as newlyweds, so I think I’ll save the others for another post.  Until then, take time right now, my friends, to grab up your loved ones and tell them how very much you love them, and how grateful you are that they are in your life.  Love may last forever, but life itself is fleeting.  We simply don’t have enough time and we never know when our end will come.  Don’t miss one single chance to say “I love you!”

 

Responses

  1. Kimberly~
    How nice to see you blogging again and even nicer to be reading your words.
    My guys will get an extra hug and squeeze today.
    Looking forward to more blogs in 2011.
    Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2011.

    Hugs to you my friend,
    Bernadette

  2. I love Christmas too. I remember your Mother and Father’s wedding. I was the flower girl. I was supposed to let my rose petals drop one by one but, I was letting them go by the handful. Some one wispered one at a time Joy. Christmas to me is all about family. Seeing loved ones, laughter, and fun. I love the lights. I have three times as many lights on my tree as I really need. There is something about primary colors twinkling among my beloved treasures, my ornaments collected over many years. I know where each one came from. I hope the year to come brings you wonders that make your heart sing. Love & Hugs, Joy

  3. I love you Mom.

    I love you Dad.

    I love all who descended from the love Mom and Dad found on Christmas 1942.


Leave a Reply

Categories

