Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | December 13, 2010

Back in the Saddle Again

So, everyone is WAY too busy to be checking blogs which have hung around too long, and it seems just right that at the same time everyone else is too busy to read, I have become too busy to write more than once a week.  I hope this situation fits with all of you who might possibly still read this ol’ blog once in awhile….  I enjoy having a place to think out loud every so often, so I think I’ll keep the blog going for the near future, in any case.  

My walking buddies successfully pried me out of my winter hiatus this past Saturday, and we met at 8:00 am for a cold, icy hour’s walk.  One of my friends, Carolyn, loaned me her extra set of cleats, so I felt able to keep up the pace.  (It won’t surprise any of you that I am a total wuss when it comes to slippery conditions. )  We were rewarded for our get-up-and-go-edness with a clear blue sky as the sun rose, cold cold cold but beautiful view of the mountains around Missoula in their beautiful white robes, and a grand march across the bridge towards and then through the place where the finish line was at the Missoula Marathon.  I had such fun being out with them again!  

We are, as a group, doing the upcoming 5K race called the “Light the Way”, put on by Runners’ Edge and RunWildMissoula.  It takes place this coming Friday evening, starting at 6:30 pm, which is LONG past the time of day I like to exercise…. but the starting line is literally across the street from our house, and the route goes through the park, with luminarias lighting the paths.  And, each racer gets a headlamp which we have to wear…  so honestly, it will be beautiful, fun, short, and then we can come to our house, have a cup of hot spiced cider (or wine for those who can imbibe) by the fire.  What’s better than that?

And, I have to admit that I was getting worried that I would revert to old tendencies to not exercise.  I do not want to get fat again, and I can easily see myself doing just that.  I still fit into my size 6 jeans, but if I had continued in the route I had begun after the NYC Marathon, I would soon not be able to squeeze them on.  Enough of that.  Back to work, back to good habits, back to the straight and narrow, BEFORE the holidays.  Back in the saddle, again.  Whew.  I feel like I dodged a bullet.

Go forward, my friends.  Go forward.

Leave a Reply

Categories

