Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | September 29, 2010

Another Sad September

Just so you won’t worry about me, if you don’t hear from me for awhile, I want to update anyone who comes to read.  If you have been reading my blog for awhile, you know that, firstly, Jim and I have lost two of our cats this past summer, and secondly, that Septembers are hard for me.  Now we have one more sadness….

We are now catless.  Jim and I have been noticing that Marmy has been looking worse and worse each day,  and she has cried every night since her sister died.  She would cry about 3 o’clock, until we got out of bed to be with her….  and then, Marmalade had a seizure yesterday morning, while she was on my lap as I was working on the computer.  I came to the decision in my heart it was time to take her in for her last appointment, and cancelled my two other things I needed to do after work so that I could wait with her for Jim to get off work, as this was one trip I knew I couldn’t make by myself.  But, while Marmy and I were resting on the bed, in the beautiful autumn afternoon sun, she seized again, and did not come out of it.  So she did not have to make that last trip to the “Scary Place” but rather died in her favorite sunbeam with me holding her.  

I know, somewhere in Heaven, there is a big warm fireplace with a soft bed in front of it.  And on that bed are now a 125 pound Chesapeake Bay Retriever named Mica, Rufus, Jellylorum and Marmalade.  And the beds in Heaven are big enough so that the cats can’t push Mica off to the cold floor.  The fireplace is in a lovely home on a lake shore where wait three other cats, several wonderful dogs, and some of the best people who have ever graced this planet.  They will wait for us, until it is our time to join them.  

Another sad September.

Responses

  1. Our pets are important members of the family. And the loss of a pet is exceeded only by the loss of a loved one, such as we experienced fifteen years ago, and you know all too well.

  2. I’m so saddened to read of your loss. My husband and I are losing our dog, Gracie, and our cat, Eddie, very soon. I so wish there were words that could help, but I do not know of any.

  3. Kimberly~ Just checking in to see how you are doing and to offer words of encouragement. I took a look at your Team Reeve page and I think it is time that you and I sit down and write your story.
    Let me know when.
    Hugs,
    Bernadette

  4. Aunt Kim, I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I know how devastated I would be to lose one of my animals. Take happiness in knowing that you provided her with the best she could have asked for, and I am positive all your animals are living the good life just as you described. Marmalade and you guys will be in our thoughts. Love – Alena & Matt
    P.S. – Matt said he is willing to send you our menace of a kitten, he will even give you priority shipping. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

