Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | September 26, 2010

Chris’ Birthday

Yesterday, September 25, would have been Christopher Reeve’s 58th birthday.  To help the Reeve Foundation remember the work and life’s goal of this amazing man, I’d like to copy a bit from a letter I received from them here:

“Today, with a determination to rival Christopher’s own, the Foundation is moving forward with the most promising research intospinal cord repair. Never before has there been so much hope about treatments and therapies leading to cures. 

Moreover, we continue Christopher’s example of showing how spinal cord injured individuals can and do exceed limits. While one’s body may not move as freely, the mind remains sharp and the spirit strong. 

As Christopher demonstrated, people living with a spinal cord injury are devoted dads and moms, loving husbands and wives, leaders in their chosen profession, and responsible for proving conventional thinking wrong by showing that cures are possible.

Christopher knew that if we brought the brightest scientists together and pursued cutting-edge approaches we would develop treatments leading to cures. People with paralysis would regain function, live healthier lives, and one day maybe even walk again.

And he was absolutely right. The outlook for someone who is injured today is so different from when Christopher had his accident. I see people making amazing progress every day.

But, our work is far from complete. Christopher provided the vision, but you and I must make it reality. The Foundation fosters the science, and you provide the fuel with your contributions.”

Christopher Reeve was an amazing man.  If you haven’t read one of his books, you owe it to yourself to pick one up.  Prepare yourself to be motivated beyond belief.  His spirit lives on in the Foundation that he and Dana began, and at which his children and friends work so hard.  I can’t say it any stronger than they did… research IS helping.  People who, even ten years ago couldn’t move, are now being able to move in ways they had lost hope of ever doing again.  But research takes money, and the money comes from donations.  Each small donation helps.  Please don’t think that you can’t donate because you can’t afford more than $5.00.  Really, every single dollar helps.

On a personal note, I have enjoyed my first weeks of being without the boot.  I have gotten back into my training with a happy heart.  I have drawn out my training schedule, writing down each day’s plan, and I will try to hold to that… after all, November 7 is JUST around the bend.  I spend time about every other day watching the video of the NYC Marathon race course, trying to imagine myself there, trying to swallow the big lump in my throat.  At this point I realize that I won’t be as ready as I want to be, but I’ll be as ready as I can be, and that will have to be good enough.  Oh, yeah, just so you know, that thermometer measure thingy on my donation link, just there to the right?  If that thermometer doesn’t reach the $4000, I can’t go.  That’s the minimum amount needed to be a part of the team.  I’m trying.  I’ve sent out letters to businesses, and you will see some additions in the total soon.  But please help me spread the word.  

9/20 – 4 miles hill training and push-ups and abs work
9/21 – 3 1/2 miles speed work
9/23 – 3 1/2 miles and push-ups and abs work
9/24 – 1 1/2 miles
9/25 – 11 miles  (my first distance post-boot!) and push-ups

Leave a Reply

Categories

