Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | July 30, 2010

“Mostly Duct Tape”

Thanks to my sweet sister-in-law, Michelle, I am currently listening to Christopher Reeve’s book on tape Nothing is Impossible.  I have never been a fan of books on tape, mainly because I want to be able to turn the pages and revel in the words on the page, and so when Michelle gave me the set, I, unfortunately, wasn’t very gracious.  I owe her a big apology.  As I’ve said, things happen the way they do for a reason, and now I see the reason she gave me that set is so I’d have something to keep my poor little brain occupied while I’m on the Airdyne.  How did she know, back then, that I’d not be able to walk for six weeks?

Anyway, I am loving having this book on tape.  My hero!  Superman to the rescue, yet again.  This past week, since I had the boot “installed” last Friday, I’ve done a fair bit of moping around.  I WANT TO WALK!  I WANT TO LOG MILES!  I HAVE ANOTHER MARATHON TO TRAIN FOR AND I CAN’T WASTE THE TIME!  ARRRGGGHHHH!!!   But, no.  I can’t.  So I’ve been moping.  And eating.  Hmmm… any wonder that my new size 10 jeans weren’t quite as loose as they first were?  OKAY, something needs to change here.

When I was getting ready for the Missoula Marathon, I enjoyed walking an hour or more a day.  All of a sudden, I’m not walking.  The doctor said I can use a stationary bike, which I am not all that overly fond of, since it is, well…. BORing.  Ahhh… Michelle and her tapes!  Superman!!!  Christopher Reeve, where are you?  Oh, Yeah!

Here is what Superman had to tell me today.  First of all, NO MOPING.  Use humor to get yourself moving.  When someone would ask Christopher Reeve how, after his accident, he was holding things together, he would tell them, “Mostly duct tape!”  OK, my ear buds fell out of my ears because I laughed so hard at that.  Yep.  Mostly duct tape holds me together sometimes, too.  Ha!

Later on in the book, he says that there are two important things he learned from his chair.  One is that it is important to exercise even when you don’t feel like it.  Huh?  Again, here I am, moping because I have to wear a what really isn’t all that uncomfortable boot, and it is only for 6 weeks, and I need to learn this lesson from a man who would spend the rest of his life unable to move below his shoulders.  IT IS IMPORTANT TO EXERCISE EVEN WHEN YOU DON’T FEEL LIKE IT!  Because if you don’t, pretty soon you can’t.  If you lose ground, it is harder than ever to regain it. Oh, this is a lesson I need to learn and remember.  Thank you, Superman.

Lesson Number 3 – Christopher Reeve then goes on to say that it is important to keep your weight under control.  Wow.  Three lessons, right on the same day, from my very own hero.  My size 10s are getting, not snug, but not as loose as they were.  I have to lose at LEAST 10 more pounds if I want to start running when this boot comes off.  I went from walking hours each day to doing nothing.  I’d better start upping the time on the Airdyne.

So, if you all don’t mind  (not that any one is actually reading this blog anymore… my stats are really dismal) I am going back to logging my exercise on each post.  It is my way to keep myself honest.  If I think someone might possibly check up on me, I’ll actually DO the exercise, and not just think about doing it.  With the Airdyne, the easiest way to log effort is to log calories used, so that’s how I’ll do it for the next 6 weeks.

7/29 – 30 minutes, 250 calories
7/30 – 45 minutes, 350 calories

Responses

  1. I am still reading! Keep at it, “Nothing Is Impossible”
    B~

  2. Kimberly,

    This past November my brother was cutting a tree down and was struck in the head. The blow dealt him a traumatic brain injury and left him a C5 quadriplegic. Through the twists and turns of Google I came across your blog and have been checking in, touched by your inspiration and generosity. Your recuperation may be frustrating, but know that what you are doing matters. I am rooting for you in New York.

  3. I am still reading your blog faithfully. And I continue to be inspired by your words! Keep it up!
    Sheila


Leave a Reply

Categories

