Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | July 23, 2010

Sidelined, redux

Okay, I told you I’d always be honest.  So, honestly, I’m dad-blamed miffed, if you want to know the truth.   Yes, I went in to the doc today and had x-rays taken of my foot, which did its level best to carry me for all of the training miles and then also for the 26.2.  I didn’t mean to mistreat it, but I guess I did.   Yes, I am wearing “the BOOT”,  and no, I can’t walk for exercise for six weeks,  and yes, this means no walk today or tomorrow or for the foreseeable future.  AARRRGGGHHH!!!!

AND, to top it off, I have to wear this lovely piece of footwear all day long, except when I am in bed… (hmmm… there might be something in this, what can I think of …?)  I have figured out that I can drive with it on, so I don’t have to take it off and put it on all the time, but honestly, there are more fun things to wear on one’s foot than this.  Oh, poop.

AND, to top THAT off, I need to lose 10 more pounds if, after six weeks, I want to slowly add running to my repertoire.  Well, the fact that I have to lose the weight doesn’t bum me out, because I really want to lose 20 more pounds, but it DOES bum me out that I can’t lose these pounds by walking!  Stationary bike, she says.  (Oh, joy, doesn’t that just sound ducky?  I guess I will have to start listening to books on tape after all.)  The best part of the doctor’s appointment was (besides the fact that Bone and Joint hires only wonderful, talented and kind people) was that she promised me she would help me get ready for the New York Marathon after my six-week forced hiatus.  I’ll hold her to that.

The doctor’s appointment started my day, but it definitely improved after that.  I got to spend three lovely hours reconnecting with an old friend from my teaching days, whom I haven’t seen in dogs’ years, and it was lovely indeed.  My friend, Mike Schaub, up from Phoenix, took time out of his vacation to visit the gimp, and it made me cry to see him again.  God speed, Mike, and come back to God’s country soon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

