Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | July 15, 2010

Back to normal. What’s normal?

I am sitting on our patio, with our parrot, Jocko.  This week I have managed to do a spot of weeding, a dollop of watering and a smidgen of housework, in amongst the familial duties clamoring for attention for the last couple weeks, which had been put on the back burner and now needed to finally be addressed.  It seemed as if I had maybe expected the world to stop while I was preparing for the marathon.  Now that the marathon is over, I know I need to gear up to get back into the swing of normal life, but I am having the HARDEST time trying to figure out what that is!  When I am not actively working at doing chores for my mom, I have this irritating tendency to wander around the house thinking, “Okay, I know I need to…what was that again?”  

So, I escape to the patio with the parrot and just sit and think.  I’ve changed a bit, in the last few months.  Last week I finally had to get some new jeans that weren’t in danger of falling off, and so took some coupons to my favorite store in the mall.  I wore the pants that had been stored in the back of my closet for the last ten years in case I could ever fit into them again.  I told the clerk that I had absolutely no idea what size jeans to try on, but was used to buying size 18.  She said, “Well, what size are you wearing now?  Size 12?  Well, Honey, they’re too big.  Try these 10s.”  They fit. WOOHOO!  They fit!  I actually have never worn a size 10 in my life, as I went from being a toddler to wearing huge clothes.  (I remember bursting into tears in the old downtown Penneys when I was maybe 7 years old, because I overheard my mom and the clerk talking about the fact that I needed to wear misses clothes.  I thought they were saying Mrs.’s clothes, and I knew that I didn’t want to be a huge old matron!  My mom very gently just explained to me that I was now becoming a young woman and was going to be wearing teen-ager type clothes instead of little kid clothes.  That, I could stand.)

Not only am I a little smaller physically, but there are a few other changes, too.  I look forward, now, to exercise.  (Not, probably, in the late afternoon, but in the morning?  You bet!)  And a short walk is now in the several mile range, when before it was around the park.  I look forward to beginning training for my next big adventure.

Yes, there is a next big adventure coming.  I’ve known about it for a number of weeks.  Nope.  I’m not telling, just yet.  But I look forward to continuing my work for the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation, hoping that the little I can bring to their organization will be of help.  Due to the very generous donations of readers and friends, my total is now close to $1,500.  Hurray!  Many, many thanks to all of you who have been so very supportive.

Lisa Heinle has been very gracious in her comments on this blog.  I think of her and of Bob, and how hard this summer is for Lisa, every single day.  Please take some time to send her some strong thoughts while you go about your daily lives…  I remember how difficult the first anniversaries are… and I know that as she ran the half marathon on this past Sunday, Lisa ran with a very full heart, in deed.

Responses

  1. Take it from somebody who knows what happens when you don’t use that energy to keep in the habit, USE IT!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Fatima, Reeve Foundation. Reeve Foundation said: Kimberly looks forward to continuing her work for the Reeve Foundation and we thank her! http://ow.ly/2cm5h […]

  3. Kimberly: Every time I read your blog, you brought Bob and Lisa to the forefront–they are now thought of daily.

    You have changed in oh so many ways, the “blossoming” of Kimberly has been a joy to read.

    Now that Mazoula is over, I will continue to post.

    Keep walking.
    Bernadette


Leave a Reply

Categories

