Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | July 11, 2010

Success!

So, yep.  I did it.  Here’s my time, though it isn’t official:  between 6 and 6 and a half hours. (Actual time, 6 hours 38 minutes) I did look at the clock as I passed, but I was so completely focused on taking enough steps to get over that line that I don’t remember what it said.  I’ll add the time tomorrow.

I finished, and I have very few words to say, because I am so totally filled with joy and relief, and to be quite honest, pain.  The first half went beautifully, the second half not so much, but I did finish.  I received my medal.  I have been waiting for months to tell you the next few words, again taken from Marathoning for Mortals by John “the Penguin” Bingham and Jenny Hadfield.   I actually read these words for the first time, laying in bed, and woke Jim up laughing….  and this is EXACTLY WHAT I INTEND TO DO!

“Wear it proudly.  Whatever you do with that medal is up to you.  we recommend that you wear it until you have annoyed everyone in your life.”

Responses

  1. Yippee Yippee and Hip Hip Hooray!!! Kimberly finished in fine form and with colors flying!! Literally – she had the Superman Team Reeve colored streamers flying as she ran – yes ran! across the finish line. Kimberly did a very fine thing today and it is a day to be proud of. And we all get to be proud by association so yippee for us too! She had proud family (including 92 year old mother!) to cheer her on at Wyoming Street and some of us at the finish line too so she is well photographed and will post photos soon.

  2. Congratulations Kimberly!!! I have been thinking of you lately and especially today as I was running the half. What an awesome accomplishment – very impressive. Hope to see you in class when you are ready for some cross-training 🙂

  3. Today we share pain, my dear sister. Yours is deserved. Mine is a mystery..


Leave a Reply

Categories

