Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | July 6, 2010

The Big Week!

It’s here, it’s here, that shocking time of year!  OK, some of  you can tell my sister and I just re-watched the movie “Camelot” and, no, it isn’t May again, though I wish it were.  Nope.  It is Marathon Week.  AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!  

(Fade to black as heroine runs screaming into the far distance, never to be seen again.)

OH.  Hi.  No, I’m still here.  I do have some marathon related thoughts (Well, DUH!) to share with you, but first of all, I have to tell you that really, this is the BIG WEEK for me, not only because it is Marathon Week, but also because today is Jim’s and my 19th anniversary!  Hurray!!!!!   I would simply love to write a very long love letter here, describing all the reasons why I consider myself to be the luckiest woman in the world, but I promised Jim when I started this project that I wouldn’t write about him, much.  And to write a love letter I would have to write ONE WHOLE HECK OF A LOT, and so, I will just have to resign myself to saying, “Happy Anniversary to the most wonderful man in the world, from your very lucky wife.”

So, on to the non-Jim stuff.  I think I will have to write a couple extra posts this week, just to keep the heebie-jeebies under control, because, YES, I am just a little tad-bit nervous.  My legs feel like noodles from this Tapering business.  My brain buzzes from random unrelated thoughts, and I wake up at 2:30 every morning and start thinking, “OK, on Sunday, this is when I wake up.  OK, on Sunday, this is when I get to the bus.  OK, on Sunday, this is when I …..”  I’m a basket case.

I turn to John “the Penguin” Bingham, who has gotten me through rough spots before. Here is what he says:
“When you stand at the starting line, you join the club… You are no longer a dreamer. You are a doer.  Thousands started  training program but never finished…They decided that they could live without finding their limits, without challenging their expectations of themselves, and without taking a hard look at their image of themselves.
     You didn’t.  If you’re standing at the starting line, you’ve not only accepted the challenge, but you’ve beaten back the demons.  You’ve conquered your imagination and self-imposed limitations.  You’ve gone farther, gotten stronger, and gotten tougher than you ever imagined.
     The miracle isn’t that you are going to finish, but that you had the courage to start – not just the courage to start the race, but the courage to start this odyssey of training and self-discovery.  You’ve had the courage to find out whether you are who you think you are.  And if you discovered some new strength, you learned to trust it.
     … The medal that you receive for finishing is symbolic of that courage and that willingness.  It becomes a powerful icon in your life.  Once they place that medal around your neck, no one can ever make you give it back.”

Marathoning for Mortals John “the Penguin” Bingham and Jenny Hadfield
Rodale Books

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary!!! That is so special and wonderful! Congratulations!

    And as for being nervous, you are going to do fantastically! Josh & I plan on staking out a piece of yard at Bill’s so we can cheer and “woohoo” and shout “go Kimberly go” as you make your way down to the finish!

    We are all so proud of you and amazed at all the hard work you have put in! WAY TO GO KIMBERLY!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Happy Anniversary! What an exciting time for you!

    Sending my contribution to you today. Look for it in the mail soon.

  3. Hey Kimberly-
    I will be cheering you on in spirit as we are on our way to MN and WI for family reunions over the next two weeks. I have so enjoyed your writing, and each time I read a post swell with so much pride in you and feel honored to know you. Whatever happens on Sunday you will always know that you met the challenge you set for yourself and beat the odds!

    Happy Anniversary as well … I’m humming “Still the One’ which is my favorite long term relationship celebration song… (and the one we had in our wedding.) Yes, Jim sure seems like a swell guy.

    Take care and do some breathing exercises to get you through the week at night 🙂

    with love and joy for you!
    Barbara

  4. Very COOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

