Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | June 28, 2010

Tapering

Tapering.  That is what this restless, not-knowing-what-to-do with myself is called. This is when the miles get shorter so that the body can rest before the big day.  OK, to be honest, I’m lazy enough to not really mind it all that much that I’m not having to log tons of miles each week now, but it IS interesting to me that I am feeling a little, well, antsy.

I’ve quoted John “the Penguin” Bingham enough times in this blog that you all know him well now.  He is the author of No Need for Speed  and co-author, with his wife, Coach Jenny Hadfield of what has become my bible Marathoning for Mortals.  It is from this second book that I quote today:
“This is where the real fun begins.  Those last few days and hours before the big event are filled with excitement, terror, joy, frustration, calm, and panic.  It’s the best time of all.

At least it can be the best time of all.  It can be if you’re open to the mood of the moment and the sometimes wild swings of emotions from well-placed confidence to abject terror.  If this is your first time, the last few days before the goal event will be unlike anything you’ve ever experienced.  The emotions feel like a cross between a surprise birthday party and jumping from the 100th floor of a building.

Here’s your first rule for race prep:  Understand that whatever you’re feeling is normal.  If you find yourself waking up in the middle of the night screaming – that’s normal.  If you find yourself singing every Grateful Dead song you ever heard – that’s normal.  And if you find yourself suddenly living in a parallel universe where no one else seems to understand a word that you’re saying – that’s normal, too.

Don’t worry if your friends and family don’t understand you.  Don’t worry if by the Thursday before race day no one is even willing to be in the same room with you, let alone try to have a conversation with you.  These last few days are the closest to being possessed that you will ever experience.  Rather than fighting it, enjoy it.”
Marathoning for Mortals Rodale Books 

On Saturday, as I was getting ready for my walking class, I told Jim that I wouldn’t be late, as we weren’t doing a very big walk, only about 10 miles.  He laughed and said, “Would you listen to yourself?  Ten miles isn’t a big walk for you anymore?  WOW!”  I guess I have changed a little.  Kinda fun.

By the way, I feel completely honored and very humbled that Lisa Heinle added a comment on the previous post.  Make sure you scroll down and read it.  Thank you, Lisa.  You are a blessing, and I cannot tell you how much it means to me that you reached out to me in this fashion.

6/26 – 12 miles (we went further than I had planned on, but it worked out great!)
6/28 – 2 1/2 miles

Leave a Reply

Categories

