Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | June 20, 2010

20’s Done!

Not long after I started this blog I had a post entitled First Fast Five!  And on the day I wrote that I was one proud and happy girl, too.  Five miles then was a great accomplishment, and a big step in the right direction.

Yesterday, my two friends from my walking class, Stan and Peggy and I did in fact complete the 20 mile long walk, the last long before the marathon in three weeks.  Yes.  We did it.  WOOHOO, WE DID IT!!!  Sorry, that just slipped out.  Thanks to Stan and Peggy for planning the route, and also for being my pacers for the day.  I did not intend nor feel a grand need to make myself stay up with them, as they are both faster walkers, but I did want to give it my best shot, and I learned a lot yesterday.

First of all, we were truly blessed with the weather.  It was a simply gorgeous day, sunny but not too hot, and Montana had on her most verdant and beautiful face.  We walked part of the race route, including the hill on Blue Mountain Road… hill wasn’t too bad yesterday because it was towards the beginning of our walk.  But now I have an idea of what to expect, and know that when the going gets tough, I will have some of the most beautiful scenery in the world to watch as I keep one foot going in front of the other.

I kept up with Stan and Peggy up until the end by using John “the Penguin” Bingham’s strategy of walk/running.  And it worked out just fine.  Until about mile 18, I was able to stay close enough to them to catch up when I wanted to, but then the last two miles I just didn’t have it in me anymore to make the extra effort to catch up.  This is good for me to know, as now I can work this into my calculations for race day.  I know I can keep a 15 minute/mile pace until about mile 18, but then I need to allow myself a minute or two more per mile.  And that will add anywhere from 8 to 16 or more minutes to my final time.  This is important only so I can tell my wonderful husband and other grand support people when to look for me crossing the finish line.  As “the Penguin” says, his own race goal is to finish the same day he starts, and I think that isn’t a bad plan with which to begin.

I did it.  Today I am tired, and only a little sore.  I’m glad the 20 is done.  And yes, I most certainly did grab on to Superman’s cape and ask him to pull me along, when the going got tough.  And I did a lot of thinking about why I am doing this whole thing.  I thought about Bob Heinle a lot, yesterday, about how much he would have given to be able to walk a marathon, or across his own kitchen.  I thought about all the other people who are right now dealing with paralysis and waiting for research to come up with a cure.  Those folks spurred me on and got me to my car yesterday, and those same folks will get me to the finish line on July 11.  

GO TEAM REEVE!

6/16 – 4 1/2 miles including speed work at class
6/17 – 2 1/2 miles
6/18 – 4 miles and a Nia class at DDC
6/19 – 20 miles

Responses

  1. Yay for you – and on a beautiful day… you are truly almost there already Kimberly!
    Congrats for hanging in there and for reminding everyone that they too can have super human strength – even in their mind!
    Barbara

  2. TheComputerGal pledges $3.00 for every mile you go of the marathon!

    Go Team Kimberly!

  3. WOOHOO from us in Florida! What a triumph!!

  4. Hey Kimberly! Thanks for your comment! I was just thinking about you too…I’m going to start at 5 am with the walkers to be sure I can get to the finish by lunchtime. I was hoping you’d know some logistics about how we get there…can we drive out to the start? I know Missoula Marathon posted that runners wont be able to drive out there for the 6 am start b/c they will have the streets blocked off so they need to meet downtown and get a bus. Do you have any thoughts on this? GREAT job on your 20! So exciting!

  5. Fantastic! Countdown.

    I bet you feel great too!

  6. Hi Kimberly!

    SO EXCITING, SO INSPIRING! Your writing is superb and captivating! (Have you ever thought about writing professionally?).

    Congratulations on your 20 miles and more to come in a few weeks. You are amazing!

    Cathy
    Cathy Jenni, Ph.D.
    Black Belt, The Nia Technique


Leave a Reply

Categories

