Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | May 25, 2010

Mind/heart/body

Drive.  Focus.  Self-talk.  Put your heart into it.  

When I was little and learning piano, when my teacher wanted me to memorize a piece of music, she would tell me to know it “by heart.”  Such a lovely turn of phrase.  It encompasses the beauty of how our hearts and minds work together to power our bodies.  Knowing something “by heart” is a different way to say that your body develops muscle memory, but the term muscle memory leaves out the wholeness, the beauty, the magic of what happens.  Our whole being, the “me” of who we are, is simply fascinating to me.  What a miracle is life.

In the book Chi Walking by Danny Dreyer and Katherine Dreyer, (Fireside, 2006), Dreyer states: “When your mind is aligned with your heart and your deepest desires, there is no limit to what can be accomplished.  Energetic alignment will ensure the success of any health and fitness program.   Energetic alignment means being clearly and deeply behind what you are doing – willing to dive into whatever is ahead, knowing that every step you take now is one more step in the right direction.  It means being truthful with yourself, realistic in your goals, and able to keep your vision in mind when the going gets tough.”

Later in the book, Dreyer talks about making your walking a “Practice.”  He says, “Turn your walking into a vehicle for personal growth as well as for fitness.  This will add a higher level of integrity and intention to your approach because you’ll find that it is a way to deepen and upgrade your relationship to your body.  Instead of merely giving your legs a good workout, you’ll be practicing to relax more, to breathe better, to expand your vision, to open up your range of motion, to increase your energy, to feel and sense your body.”  Oh, yes.  

My mind is aligned with my heart and my deepest desires.  I know that every step I take now is a step in the right direction.  My project of walking the marathon to raise money for the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation, to honor Bob Heinle, is my current focus, and the vehicle which drives my days.  But through it, through this lovely little project of mine, I am becoming more fit, more disciplined, more vital.  Each step I take now is a step in the right direction.  I am clearly and deeply devoted to this project, and who knows?  Perhaps my project, while gathering donations for this very worthy Foundation, will help me find a job, as well.  The things I am learning by heart now are becoming the very fiber of my being.

Drive.  Focus.  Self-talk.  Put your heart into it.  Become the miracle.

5/22 – 8  miles in 2 hours with RWM Walking Class
5/23 –  2 1/2 miles
5/24 – 6 1/2 miles in the cold rain (ugh)
5/25 – 7 1/2 miles

Leave a Reply

Categories

