Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | May 14, 2010

A Tribute to Lazarus

It is graduation weekend, here in Griz Country, and it appears that the weather will be fantastic for the very first outdoors ceremony for our university grads.  Congratulations and very best wishes to all of them!  

I go today to pick up the ashes of my Rufus cat, of whom I spoke last week.  I have made a promise to myself to focus on all the happy memories of his big orangeness, and not be sad that he isn’t here in more than spirit form.  Sometimes I am more successful than others.  Our animal families add so much joy to our lives, even when we know that the having of them includes the losing of them.  And the losing of them breaks our hearts.  I do not compare this to our human families, it is simply true that love in all its forms adds joy and sorrow to our lives, and we wouldn’t do without it.

It is one of the trials of the human soul, to balance joy and sorrow.  Loving is a part of losing is a part of loving.  All of us live on different timelines.  It is my own personal belief that we die when it is our day to die, whether we are sky diving, sleeping in our own bed, or out fishing on our favorite lake on a beautiful fall day.  And because of this, we have to be ready to die tomorrow, but plan on living forever.  In other words, get your stuff in order so you don’t leave a mess for someone else to clean up in case you get hit by a truck (one of my favorite sayings), but don’t focus on it… don’t let it bug you.  Awaken each day with joy in your heart at the chance to do it all again.

As I said last week, my favorite science fiction book is Time Enough for Love, by Robert Heinlein.  My edition is 1973 (told you I like to keep my books forever) by publisher G.P. Putnam.  This book is about a group of people who, through first genetic predisposition, and then scientific enhancement, are able to live for a very long time, and thus have time enough in their lives to truly enjoy the love of which we are all capable.  Lazarus Long, the family elder, was born in the early 20th century, and his experiences as he lives through many different time periods make for a really good read.  

As Lazarus experiences different ages, he, of course, gains tidbits of wisdom, which he writes down for his family.  I have returned again and again to his collection of sayings, in the decades since I first read this book.  I believe some of them are honestly worthy of remembering, and some of them are just simply too fun to be forgotten:

“*It’s amazing how much “mature wisdom” resembles being too tired.
*Men are more sentimental than women.  It blurs their thinking.
*Any priest or shaman must be presumed guilty until proven innocent.
*A poet who reads his verse in public may have other nasty habits.
*A generation which ignores its history has no past – and no future.
*A zygote is a gamete’s way of producing more gametes. This may be the purpose of the universe.
*The second most preposterous notion is that copulation is inherently sinful.
*Rub her feet.”
And I already told you the one about being able to shoot your own dog. I think Robert Heinlein must have been a tremendously wise and a rare individual.  Pick up one of his books.  I bet you’ll be glad you did.

5/11 – 1 hr upper body exercises and Pilates
5/12 – 4 miles with interval training
5/13 – Pilates at Dickinson LLC and 2 miles
5/14 – Nia at DDC and 2 1/2 miles
Weight 184.6 pounds

Responses

  1. Dearest Little Sister

    Your writing makes me cry.

    Your loving Brother Bill


Leave a Reply

Categories

