Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | April 27, 2010

Run Wild!

Here’s to the wonderful community that “my little project” has introduced me to, the wonderful RunWildMissoula people.  Since my short article appears in the current newsletter, I am sure that a few of you will be checking out my blog (I hope! and according to the stats, its already happening) and I want to make sure that all of you know how very proud I am to be in your number.  Absolutely every one of you, from Anders and Vicky and the crew at Runners’ Edge, to Eva, Chris, Meg and Jenn et.al at RWM, all of you have treated me as if I were an athlete.  For those of you who came out of the womb running, you may never know how amazing that is – take it from someone who never ever ever in her whole life thought of herself as such.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.

(If this is your first visit to my blog, please check out the pages at the top, and also check out the links to the Reeve Foundation on the right.  Each step I take in my little project is motivated by my desire to honor Bob Heinle.  If you choose to donate to the Reeve Foundation, bless you.)

I have quoted from the book Marathoning for Mortals, by John “the Penguin” Bingham and Jenny Hadfield (Rodale, Inc. 2003) before, in my blog, but I think it is time to do so again. (And again, it simply amazes me how frequently the progress we make in our training can be an exact analogy to life itself.  I am focused on this a bit, since I had the lovely gift today of visiting my mother, who is 91 years old.  She is the embodiment of the following quotes.)

*”In every long-distance race, your body eventually gets tired and your mind must take over.  At the moment when your body begins to tire, you must make the conscious decision to think your way to the finish.  Mental strength is the ability to focus on the task at hand and move your body as efficiently as possible to the final destination.  Mental fitness is what will carry you past your training miles into the physical unknown. ”

*”Make your goal to conserve energy in the first half of the race so that you can finish strong at the end…  If you play your cards right and stay with your pace strategy from the beginning, you will pass the “swaying athletes” en route to a strong finish.  This takes patience and discipline.  Once the gun goes off and the horses leave the gate, it’s a free-for-all. The horses that finish strong keep their own paces and stay true to their pacing strategies.  Take it out slow, conserve your energy, and finish the second half strong.” 

These are things that most of the RWM folks already know, and we who are newbies are just learning.  It does take conscious effort to not expend all you’ve got right at the beginning, but rather to follow your race strategy to the letter.  I’m learning this, and hopefully will be able to do it on July 11.  More importantly, I hope I can do it all my life, as my beautiful mother has done.  Planning, intelligent focus and then the joyful expenditure of energy at the appropriate time.  Sounds like good race strategy to me, and an excellent life’s goal as well.

MANY THANKS TO BARBARA RILEY FOR YOUR VERY GENEROUS DONATION!  You are a blessing to all who know you.

4/26 – 3 3/4 miles
4/27 – 2 miles as part of a rest week.

Responses

  1. You are an athlete.

    Your Lovin Brother Bill


Leave a Reply

Categories

