Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | April 20, 2010

Laundry and other blessings

The past extended weekend was a very busy one for me.  I think I have said in a previous post, that my current job is applying for jobs and then waiting for the letter of refusal to arrive in the mail…. and firms aren’t even extending that small courtesy all the time now.   This simply isn’t a good time to be in the job market.  The Sunday Employment section of the Missoulian seems to be getting skinnier by the week.

And then, praise the powers that be, two job interviews in a row!  One on Thursday and one yesterday, with of course, the 10K SuperFun(D) Race as the lovely peanut butter in the middle of the sandwich.  To make it an even busier weekend, the interview yesterday was in Havre, so Jim and I drove to Havre on Sunday and then home yesterday.  Now you know that I am a native Montanan, but I have kind of insulated myself here on this side of the mountains for a good number of years, and I have to tell you that I was simply awestruck by the beauty and vastness of the distances.  Jim and I were chuckling over our memory of the first time we brought his mother, a New Yorker, to Yellowstone, and she actually thought there must have been some sort of national emergency or natural disaster or something, because there were so few cars on the freeway.  And she wasn’t goin’ to Havre.  My heavenly days.  

Anyway, as I said, it was a busy extended weekend, and so, today was laundry day.  There was a time when I didn’t actually cherish housework all that much.  Not as I do today, when it is the absolutely, beyond a doubt, THE very FIRST thing I would choose to do, bar none.  But I want to tell you, doing laundry in this day and age is a breeze.  You see, I didn’t have to walk to the creek to haul the water back.  I didn’t have to chop the wood or stoke the fire to heat the water.  Heck, I didn’t even have to grow the cotton or the sheep from which the fiber was cut to spin the thread to weave the fabric from which to cut the pieces to sew into clothes.  Nor did I have to chop the wood (not repeating myself here) to make the charcoal from which to make the lye to make the soap that would burn my hands as I scrubbed the clothes.  

No, I just have the pleasure of imagining my sweet husband putting on his work clothes, tucking that handkerchief in his pocket,  putting on those socks on feet that will carry him through his day and then back home to me.  I am truly, truly blessed.

4/19 – Pilates in the hotel room in Havre before the interview
4/20 – 2 miles  and back to training tomorrow

Responses

  1. Dearest Sister

    I’m sorry it has been so long since I have commented on your blog. I tried a couple of times with the new sign in and didn’t get in. So I’m trying again.

    At this stage in your training you are piling up the miles. One thing that I learned when I was training for my marathons was to stand up straight. I know that the tendency is, as you get tired, to kind of slouch forward. Your body is telling you it is tired and wants to kind of fold in on itself. Don’t let it. Stand up straight, hold your head up high, pull your stomach in, put your chest out, and throw your shoulders back. You are an athlete and you can let the world know it. Your body will respond, I guarantee it.

    I am your lovin Brother Bill

  2. reading older posts and loving it. Your blog is a treasure and a gem.
    Thank you,
    B~


Leave a Reply

Categories

