Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | March 29, 2010

Prospecting

Today I’m going prospecting.  Yes, indeedy.  You see, that’s my euphemism for cleaning the basement.

Jim and I live in a house that was built in 1946, with the basement and great room added in 1956, whereupon the two lovely people who built this house immediately started filling up the basement with their treasures.  By the time we acquired this house, it was difficult to even get IN to the basement, so we had to do some prospecting right off the bat.  (That’s a pun, as you will see.)  For instance, turn left at the bottom of the stairs.  Turn left again, duck your head, go deep.  Get on your knees and go deeper.  Go back.  Farther.  That’s where we hit paydirt. Twenty-three Louisville Sluggers, to be exact.  A treasure, in deed, until we got them out into the light of day and found out that each one of them was broken.  What????  Well, as a matter of fact, we did sell these at our garage sale, but it wasn’t until a year or so later that we found out exactly WHY our dear Earl was saving these bats.  He had sawed off the handle ends of a number of them and used them as drawer-pulls on the drawers of his work bench.  And they make very elegant drawer-pulls.

OK, then on another prospecting day, Jim hit paydirt again when he discovered a real treasure box.  It even LOOKED like a treasure box, and it was big enough to hold at least two dead bodies, and heavy enough to hold a large cask of gold coins.  It didn’t.   It was filled, from bottom to tippytop with pieces of 2x4s.  Some as big as 9 inches, most around 2 or 4 inches long.  To be honest, Jim didn’t think much of this treasure as he was making the many trips up and down the stairs with the hand truck carrying these pieces out of the basement.  I think the paneling in the stairwell might still be scarred from the blue words that were coming out of his mouth.  We never have figured out why Earl was saving those little pieces.  In a treasure box, yet. 

So, today I go prospecting.  I’ve been putting it off for a rainy day, and by golly, would you look at it come down?  I know that the largest part of what I bring out today will go in big black bags to the dumpster.  A smaller part of what comes up today will be taken to Home Resource, that wonderful facility we have which allows us to share reusable items.  And maybe, just maybe, there might be a nugget to save and savor.

I view my little project in much the same way.  Not my training.  My walking training is taking care of itself, with the fine help of Candace and Rolf in my RunWildMissoula walking class.  No, it is the fund-raising end of things that is synonymous here.  Most of what I do is worthy of the big black bags and the dumpster: this is the shameless self-promotion, the pestering of my friends and family, the mass emails begging contacts to share my blog address.  Some of what I do is like unto the stuff that I will be taking to Home Resource: ie, my blog and my tweets.  (Yes, I tweet.  Me.  The dinosaur, who still doesn’t have a cellphone.  I blog and I tweet, words which a few short years ago weren’t even in our lexicon with the current usage.  Imagine.)  I HOPE that someone will find SOMETHING here that is useful.  Maybe.  

But the best thing of all, are the nuggets.  And I have already gotten a nugget!  A donation to the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation because of what I am doing!  Thank you, Nancy Shrader!  May blessings return to you ten-fold.

OK, I guess I have spent enough time playing.  It is time to get to work in the basement.  Maybe I’ll find a treasure today!

3/27 – 6 miles with the walking class
3/29 – 3 miles

Leave a Reply

Categories

