Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | March 19, 2010

Meet my friend

I would like to introduce you to a friend of mine who has been around as long as I can remember.  In fact, you’ve already seen a photo of my friend, right there at the top of this page…. no, not the mountain behind me.  I’m not THAT old.  Yep, that is it.  That round bulge, about midway up my body.  The holder of my bellybutton.  Hmmm…. yes, the Belly.  As I’ve said, Belly and I have known each other all my life and you might say I’m really quite attached to Belly.  After all, Belly is where I’ve stuffed all the frustrations, sadnesses and angers I’ve experienced throughout the years.  And you know, Belly has been right there to help me celebrate holidays and picnics and all the joyful occasions, too.  Belly even used to have a Buddy.  In the words of my first husband,  “You got good equipment, you keep it under a shed,” and during that marriage, we both “worked” on our bellies.  I weighed 250 pounds at one time.

About a year ago, I started talking to Belly.  (Ok, don’t call for the White Coat Guys yet.)  I’d talk to Belly especially when I was dancing Nia, a graceful expression of joyful movement, even WITH a big Belly.  I’d say, “Belly, we’ve been through a lot together, but I think I’m ready to let you go.”  Or, “Belly, thank you for holding all my fears and pains, but I’m ready to try it on my own now.”  

I AM ready to shed the apron, to throw away the fat jeans.  I don’t expect it to happen tomorrow.  But step by step, and day by day, I think I can face life on my own, without Belly to hold the bad things in life.  I look forward to the day when I’ll look in a mirror and see just the li’l ol’ bellybutton, all on her own, not supported by a big bulging Belly.

3/17 – Nia and 2 1/2 miles
3/18 – Nia
3/19 – taught the Nia class at Downtown Dance Collective.  It went well!  (Whew!)  and then 4 miles in the afternoon
WEIGHT  3/19 – 197.2 down from 211 a month ago.  Bye-bye, Belly!

Leave a Reply

Categories

