Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | March 11, 2010

Learning skills

Monday I went to the RunWildMissoula meeting about walking the marathon.  I’m signed up for their 16 week class, too, but last night was an introduction.  What great people!  The hints they gave will be of great benefit.  First of all, they said that core strength is very important… and I know that I’d better get out my Pilates book and get to work on that.  And then they gave us two exercises to strengthen the legs.  First of all, walk just on your heels…  I can’t tell you how humbling that was.  I thought, “oh, come on, it can’t be that hard.”  But honestly I could hardly get across the room.  The second exercise they gave us one can do whenever one is sitting doing nothing…  using your foot, with the motion coming only from your ankle, write your name or the alphabet in the air in front of you.  It really gets that ankle joint limbered up!

And then, on Tuesday, my first crash… I got a HUGE migraine, that hit, incidently, just as I was talking to Officer Leila Haack about connecting with the folk who have inspired me to start this program.  So, Leila, if I looked a little odd during our conversation, you’ll understand.  Anyway, the headache had me down and out until yesterday afternoon.  Whew!  Glad that’s over.  Does anyone have any ideas on how to handle it if you get sick just before a big race?  

So, my third week of training hasn’t been all that I wanted it to be.  But today, I’ll pick myself up and get back at it.  

3/8 – 2 1/2 miles
3/11 – 2 1/2  miles  and then another 2 1/2 miles in the evening

Leave a Reply

Categories

