Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | March 6, 2010

Keepin’ On!

I am thoroughly amazed at how much I am loving my new project, this whole plan of training to walk the Missoula Marathon to raise money for the Christopher Reeve foundation, in honor of one of Missoula’s heroes.  My walks don’t seem like exercise to me, but rather I get out of bed in the morning chomping at the bit to get out the door and explore;  I find I am exploring neighborhoods new to me in this town I have lived in all my life, and I am exploring new parts of my own self as well.  My body is changing and getting stronger.  Such a luxury to have the time to do this!

On my seven mile walk on Wednesday, I told you I saw a wonderful great blue heron, oddly perched in a tree along the river.  Thursday I saw two pileated woodpeckers, doing their Woody Woodpecker thing.  Truly, we live in a very special place, where these marvelous animals are right outside our doors.  The weather recently has been absolutely beautiful… that crystal blue Montana sky that seems to go on forever.  I’m working on a poem inspired by it… and you might see that poem here, sometime.

I hope you will check out the blog that I’ve linked, The Reluctant Runner.  The writer is another Kim, and she has lots of great links on her site.  She is also in training, but to run the half marathon, ( I totally admire anyone who runs… ) and she is raising money for the Missoula Youth Homes.  What a great thing to do!

OK, one of the things I promised you I would keep you up to date on is my weight loss  (well, we’ll hope it continues to be loss!)  Fridays will be my weigh-in day, and I was relieved to find that, even though I haven’t dieted this past week (Dairy Queen, anyone?) I still lost two pounds.  That has encouraged me to actually make some changes in my eating to speed up the loss, just a little.  I look forward to walking when I am not packing around this extra weight.  I try to liken it in my mind to carrying the large bags of cat litter downstairs, and how it makes my knees feel.  Well, here I am carrying around similar weight all the time.  Can’t be good on these old joints.  

So here’s the new log of info:
3/4 – Nia class with Jody at the Women’s Club, followed by a fast three mile walk
3/5 – two and a half mile hike up the North Hills, to use different muscles and get my heart rate up higher than I can walking. 
Weight: 204.6 pounds, down from 211

Thanks for keeping me honest!  It is amazing to me how having you out there, even if my readers are only in my imagination, gives me motivation to do this thing.

Responses

  1. One finds heroes in the most unlikely places. In my own family. Can you imagine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

