Posted by: Kimberly Dredger | February 24, 2010

Up and running…ok, walking Feb. 24

Feb. 24, 2010

I am here preparing for my friend/teacher, Nora McDougall, who will teach me how to set up this blog.  Several things happened last week which bring me to this point:

1.Of course, and most importantly, the decision I made following the death of one of Missoula’s heroes that I would raise money in his name for the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation, to further research on spinal cord injury.

2.My husband and I watched the movie “Julie/Julia.”  Odd, I know, but it was that movie that gave me the idea to blog about my experiences while I am in training, and hopefully that will bring more money to the cause.

3. The same day I decided to begin this crazy attempt, I discovered that the author of the book Julie/Julia, Julie Powell was going to be in Missoula on Saturday as the keynote speaker at the Missoula Businesswomen’s Network, and I still had time to arrange to go!  She was truly fun to listen to, and made it seem as if my thought might not be totally crazy.

4. The same symposium that Julie Powell was speaking at had workshops to hone my skill.  Wouldn’t you know that the class I had just finished, taught by Nora, had a class on blogging, and I was unable to attend that one session?  (Oh, to be honest, at that time I never thought I would EVER want to blog, and just didn’t go to that session.)

5. I did in deed go to Runners’ Edge, and the folks there didn’t die laughing when I suggested that I wanted to start training at this late date.  In fact, they were very supportive.

So, here are the walks I’ve logged since last Wednesday.
2/17- 3 miles at a good pace
2/18- 2 1/2 hours, hiking the north hills of Missoula (first time EVER.)
2/21- 5 miles, including a time trial of 1 mile in 19 minutes, totally slow, I know.
2/22- 1 mile, more of a meander than a walk.
Weight- 206.6 pounds

And that’s it, Folks, to date.  From now on, I intend to write frequently.  Thank you so much, ahead of time, for reading my blog.  Knowing that you are out there will keep me motivated.

Kimberly

Responses

  1. Kimberly-
    I am so proud of you and so excited too! You are actually doing what most of us want to do but just don’t follow through with…making a difference and getting a huge benefit because of it as well!

    I will happily follow your progress and support you in this crazy (important!) scheme.

    Your admirer,
    Barbara

  2. Wow! Two comments already! Thank you so much for adding to the blog… because it now feels real to me, instead of just a vague plan. I simply cannot tell you how much your support means. Bless you!

  3. I am very impressed and proud of you for starting all this. Maggie has been talking about starting a blog for years and you are doing it while she is still talking.

    We are anchored in a small harbor in St Johns in the Virgin Islands, weather not so good – north swell and rain coming but your blog makes me happy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

